IP’s New Music Friday – September 24th, 2021

Welcome to a great new week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday recap where we listen through this week’s released tracks to bring you the songs that stand out!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

Junga – James Patterson
James Patterson, who is 1/2 of electronic group The Knocks, has instantly found a unique and awesome sound for his solo work. With a grooving house beat, funky bass line, and fun vocals, this track will definitely get you in the a good mood. Every song we’ve heard so far from James has been quite a vibe and we’re excited for more.

For Tonight – Giveon
When you hear Giveon’s voice, you can instantly tell there is something special about him. As he continues to catapult to the top of R&B and music in general, Giveon continues to impress with his vocals and songwriting. His new track, “For Tonight,” is another beautiful song with Giveon’s wonderful voice, nice piano, and a laid back beat.

On My Knees – RÜFÜS DU SOL
As we creep towards electronic trio RÜFÜS DU SOL’s newest album, we continue to receive some awesome tracks. The newest release, “On My Knees,” continues the signature RÜFÜS sound with their emotional vocals, soaring synths, and brooding breakdowns. We’re excited to continue watching this album take shape.

Apple Crumble – Lime Cordiale & Idris Elba
Idris Elba seems to make gold with everything he touches. Teaming up with blossoming Australian duo, Lime Cordiale, Idris shows a different side on the new single “Apple Crumble.” With Lime Cordiale’s infectious melody’s and Idris’s familiar voice, this song is a rare treat that sounds like it was made decades ago.

BRIGHTSIDE – The Lumineers
The first song off the forthcoming album of the same name, “BRIGHTSIDE,” reminds us why we love The Lumineers so much. Their heartfelt vocals and raw instrumentation stir up a lot of emotion. We’re excited to continue wathcing this album come together before it’s release on January 14, 2022.

Album Begin Again – Ben Böhmer
28-year old Berlin based electronic producer, Ben Böhmer, has released his much anticipated sophomore album Begin Again. After hearing a few of the songs already, we knew this album was going to be good and it really is. Some of our favorite songs from it are “Home,” “A Matter of Time,” & “Escalate.”

Album And Then Life Was Beautiful – Nao
Nao has definitely proved herself to be a truly creative and authentic R&B artist. With her beautiful vocals and unique songwriting skills, Nao crafts songs that will hit you deep. Some of our favorite songs from the new album, And Then Life Was Beautiful, are “Burn Out,” “Good Luck (ft. Lucky Daye),” & “Antidote (ft. Adekunle Gold).”

EP Aestival – Oscar Welsh
Young star, Oscar Welsh, has released his first EP which is a shock since we already have most of the songs stuck in our heads. On Aestival, Oscar Welsh puts together his amazing recent hits, as well as a couple new songs. We definitely recommend listening through the 5-track EP all the way through, you will not be disappointed.

Album A Beginner’s Mind – Sufjan Stevens & Angelo De Augustine
Sufjan Stevens has been around for a long time and his music always seems to hold an emotional charge. On his newest album, A Beginner’s Mind, Sufjan teams up with Angelo De Augustine to create an album that is absolutely perfect for a long plane ride or going to sleep. Some of our favorite songs are “It’s Your Own Body and Mind,” “Beginner’s Mind,” & “Reach Out.”

And some more tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including many additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s