IP’s New Music Friday – July 16th, 2021

Welcome to a funky new week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday recap where we listen through this week’s released tracks to bring you the songs that stand out!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

Just in Case – James Patterson
One half of producer duo The Knocks, James Patterson has released his second solo single ever and he is absolutely 2/2. The new song, “Just in Case,” is a funky disco track that includes a groovy vocal and some bouncing drums. We can’t wait for more of the producer’s solo work in the coming future.

Bruises – Paco Versailles
LA-based duo Paco Versailles have released another new single since their debut album, Dancemenco, was released earlier this year. “Bruises,” is a laid back, upbeat track that will transport you to a sunny beach day or a beautiful drive. The vocals and synths give this song some amazing added texture.

Radio – Oscar Welsh
UK up-and-coming singer/producer, Oscar Welsh, brings us a vibey song that uses his signature mix of hip hop, jazz, and rock. Oscar’s ability to craft songs that can be played over and over again is truly impressive and we can’t wait to hear more from the budding artist.

Signal From The Noise – BADBADNOTGOOD
Canadian group, BADBADNOTGOOD, makes incredible music that spans genres between jazz, hip hop, rock, electronica, and more. They have collaborated with many amazing artists, but we were excited to receive an original from the group. “Signal From The Noise” incorporates some jazzy piano, rock guitar, heavy drums, and is quite a journey.

I Take What’s Mine – Me & My Toothbrush
Master of a more modern style of funk and disco-inspired house, Me & My Toothbrush is at it again with “I Take What’s Mine” and we’re loving it. This one is as fun as they come, with a bouncy bass line and super crunchy percussions! 

Fast Car – Syd
The Internet front-woman, Syd, has released a brand new song that is unique for the R&B singer. The new track, “Fast Car,” has some heavier than normal drums and at times some full on rock guitar.

Let Me Work On You – Kevin McKay & Norman Doray
The beloved Kevin McKay deserves an award for how many funk-house dance floor bangers he’s given us this year, with “Let Me Work On You” becoming an instant favorite by McKay! If you like a hard beat, soulful vocal, and an overall good time, then this one’s for you!

Album Sob Rock – John Mayer
We freakin love John Mayer. Whether he’s playing with Dead & Company or his own solo work, he is a magician with his guitar and voice. The new album, Sob Rock, is an absolute joy of an album with some songs feeling like they’re from the 80s. Some of our favorite tracks are “Shot in the Dark,” “Last Train Home,” & “Carry Me Away.”

Album Faith – Pop Smoke
The posthumous album of the late Pop Smoke has been released by his team. Although this album can feel like some parts are more crafted by others on the album, it is a treat to get. Pop’s vocals and flow are legendary, and it’s a shame that this may be some of the last music we ever get from him. Some of our favorite tracks are “Demeanor (ft. Dua Lipa),” “Bout A Million (ft. 42 Dugg & 21 Savage),” & “Tell The Vision (ft. Kanye West & Pusha T).”

And some more tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including many additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s