IP’s New Music Friday – June 25th, 2021

Welcome to an awesome week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday recap where we listen through this week’s released tracks to bring you the songs that stand out!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

That’s Life – Still Woozy
Still Woozy has become one of our favorite modern artists here at IP. He serves up funky, jazzy rock tunes that are good for hanging with friends or walking around. His new song “That’s Life,” has a strong bass line, some laid back guitar, and the unique, constantly moving vocals we’ve grown to love from Still Woozy.

Don’t Be Afraid – Diplo, Damian Lazarus, & Jungle
Powerhouse team up as DJ/producers Diplo & Damian Lazarus, and modern rock band Jungle, come together for an amazing dance track that is a perfect blend of house, dance, and rock music. It even sounds like Tame Impala at multiple points. Awesome track.

Love Everlasting – GoldFish
Electronic duo, GoldFish, are back with their signature emotional dance music that makes you feel euphoric and nostalgic. On “Love Everything,” GoldFish brings their signature beach sunset feels with some sweet vocals and soothing saxaphone.

Tragic – Jazmine Sullivan
After Jazmine Sullivan’s recent album, Heaux Tales, we were super excited to get a new single so soon. On “Tragic,” Jazmine uses her incredible voice to create a nice, laid back vibe. Her vocal movements are just so impressive.

More Than A Woman (SG’s Paradise Edit) – Bee Gees
This release came out of left field and we are here for it. SG Lewis does his Paradise Edit of our favorite Bee Gees song “More Than A Woman.” He puts his own unique spin on the classic disco track making it perfect for a sunset dance sesh.

Pelota (Cut a Rug Remix) – Khruangbin
After first hearing the mesmerizing sound of Khraungbin we were immediately hooked. This mix carries a more dancy feel while maintaining the original tracks Latin vibe. Great song, great remix.

Bedroom Eyes – The Knocks (ft. Studio Killers)
The Knocks always pump out fun, danceable tracks that show you just how good they are at producing house, funk, and disco. After solo releases from both members of the electronic duo, we were excited to receive a new release featuring Studio Killers

Album Cyclorama – Polo & Pan
We’ve been waiting eagerly for this album for a very long time and we couldn’t be happier with the result of this album after listening non-stop to their previous album Caravelle and all the new singles. It is imaginative, unique, and utilizes all sorts of awesome instruments from around the world. Some of our favorite tracks from it are “Magic,” “Requiem,” & “Tunnel (ft. Channel Tres).”

Album CALL ME IF YOU GET LOST – Tyler, The Creator
Tyler is back baby. His newest album is a fun, bumping album that continues to prove how good of a lyricist and producer Tyler is. We really love this album and some of our favorite tracks are “JUGGERNAUT,” “LUMBERJACK,” & “WUSYANAME.”

Album Olympia – Gorgon City
British DJ and producer duo, Gorgon City, have been at the top of the game for some time now, with countless chart-topping releases over the years. Their sound ranges from tech-house club bangers to more melodic grooves, and their new album, Olympia follows suit! Some of our favorite tracks are “Dreams,” “Never Let Me Down,” & “You’ve Done Enough.”

Album Fun & Problems – Skizzy Mars
Skizzy Mars has had a rocky road to stardom. We were big fans of Skizzy when we were younger but have grown to love him once again over the last couple years as he releases modern feeling, nostalgic rap music with his unique sound. Some of our favorites are “Ruin My Life,” “Chips Fall,” “History.”

Album The Spirit – Bakermat
Bakermat creates really fun, beach-y music that makes your soul feel good. His new album, The Spirit, is a 12-track creation with all the feels needed for a nice day on the beach or on a bike ride. Some of our favorite tracks from it are “The Spirit,” “Walk That Walk (ft. Nic Hanson),” & “From Paris to Amsterdam.”

Album Planet Her – Doja Cat
Doja Cat’s new album is a fun and playful grouping of tracks that reflect Doja’s signature sound and vibe. Some of our favorite tracks from it are “You Right (ft. The Weeknd),” “Kiss Me More (ft. SZA),” & “I Don’t Do Drugs (ft. Ariana Grande).”

And some more tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including many additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s