IP’s New Music Friday – June 11th, 2021

Welcome to a fresh week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday recap where we listen through this week’s released tracks to bring you the songs that stand out!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

Wonder – Yung Bae (ft. Channel Tres)
It seems that Channel Tres is featured on everyone’s newest song these days, but we were especially excited to see him team up with disco wunderkind Yung Bae. Yung Bae has been serving up funky disco tracks for some years now and the tunes keep pumping. This collaboration is a perfect blend of Channel Tres’ signature sound with the strings, synths, and groove of a Yung Bae song.

Nabi – Peggy Gou (ft. OHHYUK)
Peggy Gou has skyrocketed to success with her incredible DJ skills and unique sound. Although she hasn’t released that many songs over her budding career, every time we’re blessed with one we are ecstatic. On her newest track, “Nabi,” we hear Peggy’s signature sounds with a fun beat, some nice piano chords, and the soothing vocals of OHHYUK.

Run It Up – Snakehips (ft. EARTHGANG)
London duo, Snakehips, have been busting out funky house music for a long time and have made quite the impact on the musical scene. They always seem to deliver and on their new track “Run It Up” we get another upbeat dance song that’ll make you move. Featuring hip hop duo, EARTHGANG, “Run It Up” feels classy, fun, and perfect for summer.

No More Parties – James Patterson
James Patterson, or JPatt, is one half of New York based electronic duo The Knocks. Since everything these two musicians touch is fire, we were not surprised at all that James’ first solo single is amazing. It absolutely delivered with a funky bassline, a fresh beat, and JPatt speaking about the loss of parties in NYC (but they’re coming back baby.)

Thot Shit – Megan Thee Stallion
Ms. Tina Snow cannot be stopped. After a meteoric year, Megan Thee Stallion continues to release amazing track after amazing track. On her new song “Thot Shit,” Megan throws down with her impeccable flow and incredible writing. The beat and bassline make this song an absolute banger.

Just For Me – SAINt JHN (ft. SZA)
Space Jam’s upcoming sequel is starting off with a bang as they release a soundtrack that contains some incredible music including the newest release “Just For Me.” This song by rising singer SAINt JHN with the always lovely queen SZA has all the feels and the pumping beat gives the track a deep feeling vibe.

Let It Kick In – Franc Moody
Nu disco/funky soul group Franc Moody has released a new track that will definitely set you in the right vibe. With their classic funky grooves, upbeat bassline, and fun vocals, “Let It Kick In,” makes for a wonderful feel good dance track.

Keep Moving – Charlotte Day Wilson
Toronto native, Charlotte Day Wilson, is a multi-talented vocalist, producer, and instrumentalist who is rising quickly in the R&B world. Her music is raw and emotional, and she has a knack for strong songwriting. Charlotte’s newest track “Keep Moving,” is a laid back, nostalgic track that’ll make you think.

Album Culture III – Migos
Rap supergroup always delivers the heat, every, single, time. They are one of the best groups of all time and it is truly a blessing that they continue to make music together instead of splitting like so many before them. On the third installment of their Culture album series, Migos throw down once again creating fire track after fire track. Definitely give this album a full listen through. Some of our favorite songs are “Avalanche,” “Type Shit (ft. Cardi B),” & “Light It Up (ft. Pop Smoke).”

Album The Juicebox – Emotional Oranges
Electronic/Hip Hop group Emotional Oranges have released their newest album The Juicebox after releasing singles over the last few months. We already loved many of these songs, but the rest are just as good. Some of our favorites are “Back & Forth (ft. Vince Staples),” “All That (ft. Channel Tres),” & “Bonafide (ft. Chiiild).”

EP Oh – Justin Jay & Claude VonStroke
Dirtybird founder & artist, Justin Jay and Claude VonStroke, have teamed up to make a collab EP that defies genres. They definitely nailed what they set out to do with 4 tracks that don’t fit into any specific genre. The EP is a trippy and fun journey and definitely worth a listen. Some of our favorites are “Oh,” “Poison,” & “Nucleus.”

And some more tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including many additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s