IP’s New Music Friday – May 21st, 2021

Welcome to an exciting new week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday recap where we listen through this week’s released tracks to bring you the songs that stand out!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

Alter Ego – Duke Dumont & Channel Tres
Channel Tres has become one of the most sought out features in dance music and other genres. For Duke Dumont’s esteemed series For Club Play Only Vol. 7, he recruited the singer/producer for a track that will definitely get you moving your feet. We’ll be sure to play this at our discos for time to come!

Missing Piece – Vance Joy
Vance Joy is back with his first non-feature single in three years and he’s still got it. Vance Joy has always had the ability to enter peoples hearts and make them feel real emotion. With its pounding drums, playful guitar strumming, and genuine vocals, “Missing Piece” is an awesome new song that hopefully will be the first of many newbies over the coming months.

Chemical – MK
Marc Kinchen, aka MK, has been serving up feel good house songs since the 90s, but he has really solidified himself as one of the best over the last ten years. His newest track, “Chemical,” is a nice, progressive house song that utilizes some soft synths and some soothing vocals to create a fun and bouncy vibe.

America’s Cup – Pond
Psychedelic rock group, Pond, has delivered a new single to follow up their recent release “Pink Lunettes.” On their new track, “America’s Cup,” Pond brings their unique psychedelic synths and sounds while still rocking out. If you’ve never heard Pond before, definitely dive into their discography.

Higher Power (ZHU Remix) – Coldplay
We were super excited and impressed by Coldplay’s new track “Higher Power.” This week, however, we were blessed with an awesome new remix by producer ZHU who recently released his new album DREAMLAND 2021. ZHU adds his dreamy house vibes to the Coldplay track bringing the energy down into more of a dance music feel.

If I Could – Charlotte Day Wilson
Charlotte Day Wilson is quickly becoming one of the top RnB singers in the game. She rose to fame with her songs “Work” and “Take Care of You” featuring The Internet front woman Syd. Her new song, “If I Could,” puts her gorgeous voice back on display with some emotional synths and a slow moving beat.

Boogie All Night – Anabel Englund & Dombresky
We couldn’t be more pleased with this powerhouse collab,  local LA based Singer song writer Anabel Englund and Welsh Producer/DJ Jamie Jones. With Jamie Jones chilled out techno bass line and Anabel’s warm angelic voice, we have a great song to listen to in most settings. Don’t forget to check out the rest of Anabel Englunds album Messing with Magic.

seaside_demo – SEB
LA-based artist, SEB, has released his track “seaside_demo” which originally grew to fame on TikTok after being mashed up with Harry Styles song “Watermelon Sugar High.” On this track, SEB delivers ultimate summer sunset vibes with the washed out guitar and his raw, genuine vocals.

Two-Track Single Drop It Slow – Gabe
Gabe is a Brazilian electronic music genius who blends many different sub genres of EDM in one song. This tech house jam has the perfect bass line for any rager, club, or just dancing in your room.

Album Harmony House – Dayglow
After Dayglow’s slew of singles leading up to his new album, we knew it was going to be a helluva album and we are not disappointed. Dayglow’s bright and cheerful take on indie rock brings us songs that will infect joy into your life and make you smile on your next walk. Some of our favorites are “Medicine,” “Balcony,” & “Moving Out.”

EP Calle EP – Shermanology
Ever since stumbling upon Shermanology’s “OK – Cool – Aight” we’ve been hooked on their wide range of sounds, whether it is an inspirational funky groove or a Latin house banger. On Calle they stepped it up a notch with not only some dance floor-ready beats but also some nice melodic tunes too.

Album SOUR – Olivia Rodrigo
By this point, most people know who Olivia Rodrigo is from her song “drivers license,” which topped the charts for a crazy amount of time as her first single ever. Many people questioned whether she could continue to make songs as popular and good as that, but through her new album SOUR she has definitely shown that she will have longevity. Some of our favorite tracks are “enough for you,” “deja vu,” & “happier.”

Album Long Lost – Lord Huron
Indie rock band, Lord Huron, has released their fourth album titled Long Lost. With their vintage sounding guitar playing and washed out vocals, the band creates a sound that is as new as it sounds old. This is the perfect music for a drive through the mountains or next to the beach. Some of our favorite tracks are “Mine Forever,” “Long Lost,” & “Not Dead Yet.”

And some more tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including many additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s