IP’s New Music Friday – February 26th, 2021

Welcome to another awesome week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday recap where we listen through this week’s released tracks to bring you the songs that stand out!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

Like a Ship – Leon Bridges & Keite Young
Leon Bridges never seems to disappoint when his voice and songwriting skills are put on display. The modern day crooner shows off his impressive vocal stylings and powerful musical energy to create a song that is inspirational and empowering. On “Like a Ship,” Leon teams up with singer/songwriter/producer Keite Young to create an instant classic track that feels good in the soul.

Your Love – Paco Versailles
Flamenco electronic duo, Paco Versailles, have gifted us another wonderful song after releasing a slew of impressive tracks over the last year. “Your Love” brings in the common flamenco guitar plucking along with a nice grooving beat to make this the perfect beachy, happy song as we move into Spring.

Krunk – Sad Night Dynamite
Knowing little about the new duo, Sad Night Dynamite, we were blown away by the unique sounds and flows in their new track “Krunk,” off of their new self-titled album. On it, the pair puts a fun beat, some Indian sounding plucks, and some super fun vocals to craft a track that is unique and brilliant. These two have only been releasing music since last year so we are super excited to see where they go from here.

It Takes Two – Fiji Blue
As another new duo entering the IP radar, Fiji Blue released a sun-soaked track that creates quite the vibe. With some flowing synths and laid back vocals, “It Takes Two,” is a funky, grooving track that’s perfect for hanging on the beach or taking a long Spring walk.

KEEP MOVING – Mohawk & The Kid
“KEEP MOVING” is the first we’ve seen of Mohawk & The Kid and it has us eager to hear more. This one is awesomely funky and soulful, with a crisp house beat underneath. The track in entirety is an absolute groove but the vocal is the cherry on top, leaving you feeling happy and free! 

Rainforest – Noname
Noname is musical force. Her newest release, “Rainforest,” is an amazing track that puts Noname’s lyrical mastery on diplay. This song is strong, powerful, and moving while being laid back and sexy at the same time. So so excited to continue watching Noname’s journey.

Raindrops – Curt Reynolds
Sometimes there is nothing better than some deep/melodic house that just takes you on a journey, and Curt Reynolds is serving us just that and more with his latest release of “Raindrops”. Starting with a squeaky clean beat, this track definitely makes you want to dance, while layers of various synths and bass continue to change and build. Being in the realm of Nora En Pure, this would be a great one to enjoy outdoors or in nature.

Too Sweet – India Shawn (ft. Unknown Mortal Orchestra)
India Shawn’s voice is truly a breath of fresh air. It cuts through her tracks in a way that really lets the listener feel her emotions. On “Too Sweet,” India teamed up with alternative R&B artist Unknown Mortal Orchestra to craft a song that is relaxing and beautiful.

You – Naji (ft. Insightful)
Singer/songwriter Naji put together an awesome new track featuring the always amazing Insightful. On “You,” the pair utilize some unique sounds and fun grooving beat to make a song that is fun and laid back.

Wagwan – Novelist
Novelist is a UK based MC who came on to the seen when he was only 6 years old and has been killing it ever since. His style is Trap style of hip hop with a unique flow that goes perfectly with the beat. If you’re a fan of Top Boy, you’ll definitely recognize the title of this track.

Get Together – Dam Swindle
“Get Together” is another groovy addition to Dutch duo Dam Swindle new EP Spiced Rum coming soon. Dam Swindle is one of our favorite house music DJ’s because they beautifully incorporate old soul, funk and disco in their music. Put their music on shuffle and you’ll know exactly what we’re talking about.

Album Polydans – Roosevelt
Indie dance music artist, Roosevelt, released his third album today titled Polydans. This album is a blast and definitely worth a full listen through. Roosevelt brings many spacey synths and 80s bass lines to craft an album that is reminiscent of M83 and SG Lewis. It’s exciting, fun, and original. Some of our favorites include “See You Again,” “Closer to My Heart,” & “Lovers.”

EP Disco Body Parts – Yung Bae
Everybody’s favorite disco boy, Yung Bae, put out a two track release featuring Marc E. Bassy, and of “Sail” fame, AWOLNATION. Although it doesn’t seem to matter who’s featured, or even if Yung Bae, is featured himself for you to know it’s going to be a fun song. The disco rising star always keeps it funky and upbeat.

And some more tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including many additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s