IP’s New Music Friday – December 4th, 2020

Welcome to a fresh week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday recap where we sift through this week’s released tracks to bring you the songs that stand out!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

Koyemba – Polocorp
Polocorp, one half of the legendary French world house group Polo & Pan, has released a new EP on Israeli label Disco Halal. Named after the leading song, the Gnawa EP is three tracks full of unique sounds and fun beats that are guaranteed to make your mind feel good. In “Koyemba,” we move through many fun sections including flute sounding instruments, tribal drums, and all sorts of unique sounds you won’t hear anywhere else. Polocorp, along with Polo & Pan, have created a sound that is hard to miss. (Rest of EP continued below)

Enchantment – Nora En Pure
Mother of deep house, Nora En Pure, brings us another elegantly vibey track with her latest release “Enchantment.” Blending classical music and house is Nora’s expertise, and here she has created a mystical ballad that is perfect for a long drive with beautiful strings and a pacing beat.

Age of Machine – Greta Van Fleet
New age classic rock group, Greta Van Fleet, brings us an awesome new tune that definitely rocks hard. “Age of Machine” has Greta’s classic rock guitar and drums reminiscent of Led Zeppelin and others of the time. This song does feel like a nice step in a good direction for Greta feeling a bit more experimental and fun. Excited to hear the album that this is surely leading up to.

I’m In Love With You – Poolside & NEIL FRANCES
Daytime disco artist Poolside teams up with electronic duo NEIL FRANCES for a laid back, feel good track. “I’m In Love With You” has a funky bass line and is groovy while remaining hopeful and dreamy. Check out this track as part of Poolside’s Daytime Disco mix playlist.

Flip Reset – Kaskade & WILL K
2020 has been a tremendous year for Kaskade, with consistent releases ever since his Redux project earlier in the year. In this collaboration, Kaskade follows WILL K in a heavier tech house style track. This is a standout featuring Kaskade’s evolved sound and we can’t wait to hear it on the dancefloor!

Better Than I Imagined (Kaytranada Remix) – Robert Glasper (ft. H.E.R. & Meshell Ndegeocello)
“Better Than I Imagined” was an incredible song when it was first released a few weeks ago, but we were not prepared for a Kaytranada remix of the jazzy track featuring top R&B artist H.E.R. This is a more laid back Kaytranada remix than we’re used to which fits perfectly with the original feel of the song. The vibe is high on this one.

Need2Freek – Walker & Royce
Walker & Royce are masters of the Dirtybird style of house, adding an experimental element to each of their tracks. Need2Freak fits the mold, also having more relaxed elements than we normally expect from the duo. This song can be played to dance and also to chill.

The Captain is Drunk – Jack Johnson
Indie beach rock legend Jack Johnson is back with a classic JJ track that’s sure to make you feel like you’re floating on a cloud on a summer morning. Jack Johnson has a knack to make people feel warm and safe with his warm vocals and minimalist production. His guitar and voice are all that’s needed to make you feel good on this one.

Trapdoor – Gorgon City
Gorgon City has been slaying every one of their releases this year, with Trapdoor completing their Realm EP. In classic Gorgon fashion, this track hits hard with deep techno-style subtleties and is sure to rock any dance floor. 

We No Speak Americano (10th Anniversary Edit) – Yolanda Be Cool
We all remember Yolanda Be Cool’s absolute classic that put them on the map, “We No Speak Americano,” which became a widespread anthem shortly after release. This edit could not be better, maintaining the original song’s roots while adding a jazzy and funky drop!

EP Gnawa EP – Polocorp
(Continued) The rest of Polocorp’s Gnawa EP is just as fresh and unique as Koyemba featured above. The two other tracks – “Gnawa (ft. The Atlas Collective)” & “Alexandria” – retain the desert, tribal feel and bring in all sorts of fun sounds and instruments. Polocorp has definitely found a nice pace to his solo music and we’re excited to have more of it in the future.

Album The Lo-Fis – Steve Lacy
After his groundbreaking debut album, Apollo XXI, last year, singer/songwriter/guitarist Steve Lacy has delivered us a stripped down, lo-fi album full of short songs that feel good. Steve continues to grow as a solo musician after contributing greatly to Syd-led group The Internet. Some of our favorite tracks on the album are “Atomic Vomit,” “I Think I Should,” and “Donchano.”

Album Welcome to the Hills – Yussef Dayes & Charlie Stacey & Rocco Palladino
Yussef Dayes, who recently came released a collab album with Tom Misch, has created a new collab album with Charlie Stacey & Rocco Palladino. It is a live feel that has a live audience and a truly jazz feel. These threee team up to make something very special and exciting. Some of our favorites from the album are “Jamaican Links,” “Odyssey,” and “Welcome to the Hills.”

And some more tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including some additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s