IP’s New Music Friday – October 9, 2020

Welcome back to another week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday where we run through the week’s new tracks to bring you the songs that standout!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

JEWELZ – Anderson .Paak
The funk is always grooving with Anderson .Paak. His latest single, “JEWELZ,” is a confident, fun, and very danceable new track produced by production legend Timbaland. This track is sure to get you on the dance-floor and get the chorus stuck in your head for weeks.

Wired – Sonny Fodera (ft. Ella Eyre)
Sonny Fodera teams up with the beautiful voice of Ella Eyre to bring us “Wired.” This one is super fun and upbeat, bringing some major pop vibes while still having gospel and house roots. Play this on a road trip or at a dance party with friends!

Silver Tongue Devil – Masego (ft. Shenseea)
Sax player, rapper, & singer Masego has gifted us with this gem of a track featuring dancehall artist Shenseea. “Silver Tongue Devil” is a laid back, vibey track including Masego’s signature sax sounds with a dancehall drum beat and feel. Masego is consistent in quality and this new track is no different.

Skate Depot – Channel Tres
Once again we’re blessed with a unique genre bending track from LA born and raised DJ/Artist Channel Tres. On “Skate Depot,” he combines rap, funk, and house to make music that is so easy to listen to. This song has all the potential to be a modern day skater anthem.

My Way, Soon – Greta Van Fleet
Modern rock band, Greta Van Fleet, has released their first track of 2020 after a long period of quiet since they’re 2018 album release. “My Way, Soon” is Greta’s classic rock sound that’ll transport you to a tour bus traversing the country. Enjoy these young guns and we’ll keep an eye out for more of them to come!

Apricots – Bicep
London-based electronic duo, Bicep, brings us a new ethereal house track in their typical vein. “Apricots” is a musical adventure bringing in surrounding synths and house beats ultimately crescendoing into epic rolling sounds. Lay back and give this song a listen.

I Made Peace With It – JR JR
JR JR always brings the airy feel-good vibes that we love, always perfect for the start of summer. “I Made My Peace With It” is more laid back than some of their other releases, and is perfect for a chill time with friends or a sunset.

Black Woman – Emanuel
This track is more than just an ode to Black women, this is a ballad that empathizes and expresses gratitude towards Black women for being brave and strong in a world that neglects and dismiss them. Emanuel’s strong but calming vocals help you hear every note in a way that is comforting and never intrusive. If you enjoyed this song we suggest you check Enmanuel’s latest release Alt Therapy Session 1: Disillusion.

Let’s Rave – Cloonee
Cloonee is a tech-house artist that is newer on the scene releasing a handful (or two) of absolute bangers in the past few years. He has recently been pushing out deeper and darker tracks during 2020 through Chris Lake’s label, Blackbook Records. He has been playing with some more experimental sounds with these releases and we look forward to him showing up more on our radar. 

Album As Long As You Are – Future Islands
Future Islands have been serving up their unique surfer rock sounds since their first album in 2008. As Long As You Are is a deep, emotional, but fun album that will make you contemplate life and long for nature. Some of our favorite tracks off the album are “Born in a War,” “Moonlight,” & “Thrill.”

Album Zimmer (Remixes) – Zimmer
As a promising up-and-comer in the electronic music scene, Zimmer has put out some fantastic music over the last few years. His recent self-titled album was a minimalist, downtempo sonic journey that was just begging for some remixing. Luckily, he just released a remix album that gives new life to some of his best songs off the album. Our favorites are “Rey (Gerd Janson Dance Mix),” “Wildflowers (You Man Remix),” & “Make It Happen (Amtrac Remix).”

Album Fish Pond Fish – Darlingside
Folk-rock band Darlingside have released an incredible new album that is emotional, raw, and introspective. It’s the perfect music for your next ride through nature, adventure, or road trip. Some of our favorite tracks are “Ocean Bed,” “Denver,” & “A Light On In The Dark.”

And some extra tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including some additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s