IP’s New Music Friday – September 25, 2020

Welcome to another wonderful week of Infinite Purple’s New Music Friday where we dig through the week’s new tracks to bring you the songs that standout!

Read all the way through or make your way to the bottom for the full Spotify playlist of our Friday discoveries.

The Great Divide – The Shins
The Shins have released their first song of 2020 and it is big. “The Great Divide” takes the Shins classic sound and mixes in some more electronic beats, synths, and sounds. Take a musical journey with this one and we’ll be looking out for more new releases from them soon.

Borderline (Blood Orange Remix) – Tame Impala
Two of our favorite artists blend together on this one. Blood Orange has created a relaxed, chilled out remix of Tame Impala’s recent track “Borderline.” Float away to this one on your next walk or bike ride.

For Real – Jharrel Jerome (ft. Kemba)
The first ever release from Jharrel Jerome shows great promise from the Emmy-winning actor. Jharrel is best known for his emotionally invigorated role in Netflix’s “When They See Us,” but he is now dipping his toes in the music world and we are here for it.

Revolving – Yung Bae (ft. Marc E. Bassy)
“Revolving” is Yung Bae’s first release since May and it brings the funk along with some really fun indie vibes. We know you’ll be called to dance on the beach to this one!

Wetlands – Nora En Pure
One of our favorite worldly deep house artists, Nora En pure, has brought another mystical dance tune with “Wetlands.” This one is airy and nostalgic will make you want to get into nature and reminisce.

Money Up – MadeinTYO (ft. Toro Y Moi)
With a rough and trippy beat, MadeinTYO brings us a hard hitting track featuring one of our all-time favorite artists Toro Y Moi. Toro graces us with his effortless flow and fun writing to loosen up the track. As Chaz so eloquently states: “This a tour, not a boys night.”

Elevate – Deeper Purpose
“Elevate” has been rattling dance floors for over a year and we couldn’t be excited enough for this heavy-hitting release from Deeper Purpose. You may recognize this one from Fisher or Chris Lake’s DJ sets! 

Album Trips #3: India – Red Axes
If this is your first time hearing about Red Axes then you’re in for a pleasant surprise. We originally heard Red Axes while sipping kosher cocktails at a hip bar in Tel-Aviv. We were so enthralled by the music that we asked the bartender who was playing and he said it was an eclectic electronic and indie music duo “Red Axes” on shuffle, who also happen to be based in Tel Aviv. The song that stood out the most was “Ho Chi Min” from their album Trips #2: Vietnam, where they made authentic worldly electronic music with local musicians in Vietnam. That is exactly what they did in their new album Trips #3: India. We also suggest you check out their first trip album Trips #1: In Africa.

Album Shore – Fleet Foxes
Fleet Foxes are back with an album thats “shore” to brighten your days. These indie rock all-stars seem to always know the way to our hearts and this album is no different. It’s inquisitive, hopeful, and emotional – all wrapping together into a beautiful sonic journey. Some of our favorite tracks are “Can I Believe You,” “Sunblind,” & “Featherweight.”

Album Free Love – Sylvan Esso
The alt dance duo, Sylvan Esso, is back with a new album. This time they’ve gone on more of an experimental route that is slower and less playful than the sound we’re used to, but soothing and meditative nonetheless. A few of our favorites songs on It are “Rooftop Dancing”, “Ferris Wheel”, and “Free”. 

And some extra tracks that stood out this week:

For the full IP’s NMF playlist including some additional songs not featured above, check the playlist below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s